I made some changes to a Dreamweaver Template File (.dwt) and I don’t see any of the edits or modifications on my website. How do I update the website after editing a .dwt template file?

Home Site Store Pro Knowledge Base (Public Support Forum) Resolving Common Issues I made some changes to a Dreamweaver Template File (.dwt) and I don’t see any of the edits or modifications on my website. How do I update the website after editing a .dwt template file?

  • Author
    Posts

  • sitestorepro
    Keymaster

    Not seeing any changes to the website or online store design after editing a .dwt file in Dreamweaver is caused by one or both of the following situations:

    1) You didn’t upload the modified files to your website after editing the .dwt template file:

    After editing a .dwt file (template) file in Dreamweaver, you must save the .dwt file and then upload all the files that were modified (updated) by the template “update” process to your webhosting account or testing server. Dreamweaver template files will automatically update all files in the site definition that are linked to that .dwt file. However, Dreamweaver will not automatically upload the modified (updated) files from your local system to your live or testing server.

    Note: Simply uploading the modified template (DWT) file will not update your website files. You must upload the website files that are associated with and updated by the Dreamweaver DWT file that you edited.  You actually do not need to upload the modified DWT file to your hosting account because Dreamweaver template .dwt files are not directly linked to the site files such as include files. DWT files only “update” files that are assigned to them when edited inside of Dreamweaver.

    2) You didn’t set up a Dreamweaver “Site Definition” for your website before editing the .dwt template file:

    You need to set up a Site Definition in Dreamweaver before editing .dwt (template) files or they will not work correctly. For information on how to set up a Site Definition in Dreamweaver, please consult your Dreamweaver help files. The Dreamweaver Site Definition includes the location on your local system of your website files, your webhosting acccount FTP login information and other configuration settings.

    The Site Definition creates a cache of all your online store (website) files that allows the .dwt files to update all files that relate to the specific template.

    When the Site Definition has been setup correctly and you edit a template file and click ‘Save’, Dreamweaver will prompt you to “UPDATE” all files in the site that match that template and you will see the progress as it updates the files in your Dreamweaver site definition.

    if Dreamweaver does not prompt you to update the files in the site after you edit a DWT file in the “templates” folder then you have not correctly set up a site definition in Dreamweaver for the website before editing the file (i.e. you just clicked on the .dwt file while browsing your computer and started to edit it). Dreamweaver DWT files must be edited inside of Dreamweaver with a pre-setup Site Definition in order for them to properly update their associated files that are based on the DWT design and layout

     

    Website Monitoring For Everyone - Site Monitor Pro

    Check our our new website monitoring service at Site Monitor Pro!

    .

    *************************************************************************

    If you need assistance with your Dreamweaver integration and/or design modification of the sample store included with Site Store Pro, our support personnel can login remotely to your system and show you how to update a DWT file and/or make sure that you have setup a Site Definition in Dreamweaver correctly.

     

     

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.


Search SiteStorePro.com

Subscribe To Our Email List